Review of ‘Language Genius 1’ Flashcards

I was given this flyer of ‘home practice materials’ that the school was selling and decided to give a few products a go. The Language genius set was one of those that I bought ($50.50). The cards work out to about 25 cents per piece.
language genius front
language genius backThis is a box of plain word flashcards, without any images. The words are sorted into sets (someone predetermined which word are ‘more important’ than others and the cards are sorted according to their ‘importance’- I know of this list called the Dolch word list, a list of most frequently used words but I can’t get myself down to comparing it with this set because it will simply take me too much time)
language genius
language genius 2
Here are some of the issues I had with these cards-
  • One of the suggested uses was to form a sentence (sometimes with a picture). However, to do so I had to look through the entire box for the word that I wanted (sometimes after searching the entire box I couldn’t find the word I wanted). So an index of all the words, with the set to find them in, would be really useful!
  • You would be required to have picture flashcards in A5 size in order to flash the composite word-picture sentence. At that point in time I only had my home-made flashcards (I had not received my flashcard set from China yet) that were smaller than A5 size so there was no way I could do that..
language genius instructions
This set is has a similar concept to Glenn Doman’s ‘Teach your Baby to Read’ set. However, the notable difference is that the words in this set are mainly verbs and adjectives with hardly any nouns while in Glenn Doman they usually start with nouns first, before going on to the rest. (see this site with a recommended word bank if you want to follow Glenn Doman’s method)
If you are interested in reading about Glenn Doman’s method of teaching your baby to read, you can go here and here. Once again, these are fantastic mummy blogs, where you can read up more about Glenn Doman, his methods, and their successes.
Please do note, however, that this method of flashing words is in keeping with the ‘whole word approach’, which has been criticized by educators (as opposed to phonics). For a very brief overview on this approach, its pros and cons, you may like to read this wikipedia article.
Apparently until today, the debate still continues. Well in my opinion, just do both!
Anyway, I have digressed far away from the Flashcard review. Overall, this is a fair set to buy. However, for those on a budget, you may want to consider printing your own word cards, which is definitely cheaper than buying this set for fifty dollars.
9 thoughts on “Review of ‘Language Genius 1’ Flashcards

  1. Indeed, I agree with doing both. Phonics doesn’t cover all English words anyway, so there’re still many “sight words” that can be read more effectively with the whole word approach. Personally, I like reading by whole word approach. For new words, then try using phonics to help.

    In using this flashcard set, I’ll look through the cards within the same colour, then try to come up with a sentence that can use a few words. Then stuff in a few pictures (usually cartoon characters, favourite objects or family member photos) from several flashcards sets.

    After flashing for several days, I’ll move the word cards to another pile. The next time, just choose from the remaining words cards.

    Hope this makes sense.

  2. Thank you for creating this blog and sharing a lot of information for us. May I know each time how many sentence will be flash? How many card initally?

    • During the Shichida lessons that we attend, they usually incorporate only one sentence (of about 5-7 words), into the flashcards session. I suppose if you are following Glenn Doman’s methods you can show more word cards, the key being to stop before your child wants to stop/gets tired.

      • It also depends on the age group. For baby and toddler class, from 1 to 2 picture sentences in a flashcard session. For 3-4 years old, about 3-4 sentences per session. Generally, more sentences can be included for older children. The younger the child, the higher proportion of image cards.

  3. Can give some example of flasing word sentence card? Like I like banana so will be 3 cards. 1. I 2. Like 3. Banana (picture) then flash while read out the word is it like that? Sound very interest to me… As now i only flash knowledge flash card…

  4. Thank you for replying me… May I know how to flash second sentence? Do i need to put a blank card before starting second sentence or put a black dot card indicate is end of the first sentence?

    • Here’s what we do (I’m not sure if it is ‘correct’, but it makes a little sense to me).
      Each set of flashcards is taken out of the box to flash, one set at a time. So for example, you flash a set of 10 cards about ‘birds’, then put it back in your box and take out the next set ‘I like bananas more than apples’ to flash, then put it back and take out the next set…so on and so forth.
      This is what I have seen the teacher in class do. I suppose it is easier to flash 10 cards each time than to hold 100 cards and flash all of them at one go.

Leave a Reply

