Shichida Worksheets

I mentioned in my previous post that Shichida class has started giving out worksheets as homework for the toddlers in the 1-2 year old class. Here are more details…

About 15 worksheets are given out every month, and the child is supposed to do not more than one worksheet a day.

The first 3 months of worksheets have been rather simple, and involve:

  • drawing lines to connect things
  • drawing dots on lines on various pictures
  • drawing dots into objects
  • colouring objects

As the worksheets all have a copyright symbol at the bottom ((c) Shichida Educational Institute, Japan), it would not be possible to release them fully on my blog. However, with the defense of fair comment, I have an picture of what the worksheets look like.

worksheets

I have also, drawn a series of similar worksheets (forgive me, I had to use Microsoft clipart), for blog readers who do not have access to Shichida classes in their country. I’m quite sure you can replicate these quite easily, once you get the general concept.

Sample worksheets

Personally, I have yet to get Samantha started on any of the worksheets. In my opinion, she is not ready to hold any writing instrument as of now (16 months of age). The rare crayon or pen I have placed into her hand has ended up in her mouth..Also, since right brain training is all about creativity I really don’t understand why we have worksheets for children with instructions to draw lines or to join dots. Okay, I have to admit, I’ve not been a fan of worksheets…

5 thoughts on “Shichida Worksheets

  1. Agree with you on the worksheets for 1+ yo. My eldest was born in Feb, so he received worksheets at about 2, which was ok and he was quite cooperative in doing the work.

    In contrast, my #2 was born in Nov, so he received worksheets at 1+, very age-inappropriate. I probably did most of the work by showing him how it’s done, for the sake of submitting.

    It’s actually more effective to DIY materials for matching, choosing, etc. Writing has to wait till the child has completed a full range of pre-writing activities.

  2. Pingback: The Shichida Method (in Singapore) | doctoring.parenting

  3. Hi mummy/daddy (blog author),

    I’m also a parent of a 19 month old (same age group as your little one) and presently taking him for Heguru lessons and desperately seeking info on Shichida (esp to determine if it’s any better in terms of the pace of class, type of activities). Heard from a few mummies that Shichida standards have deteriorated over the years in SG but there’s no way I can validate that. Could you tell me more about what are the various activities taught/done in the 1 hour class for this agegroup…(I feel that the Mandala, flashing symbols of chemical elements , imaginary story etc are way too high for their age and useless in my opinion)…Do the children at Shichida class really pay attention to what the teacher is showing or do they get easily distracted by their peers or other objects in the classroom (its mostly the latter case in Heguru class , my observation over 4 classes attended so far) You could email me on divvs18@gmail.com if you don’t want to blog something in public…Thank you so much…

    • Hi DV,

      I agree, the lack of transparency and option for a trial lesson makes it difficult for parents to accurately decide which is better. If you look under my shichida tags, I have blogged about the class structure and also the first few lessons in a fairly comprehensive manner. I’ve kinda stopped blogging about every class because it has become very repetitive and I’m bored to writing about it!

      To be really honest, I think the kids probably only pay attention about half the time. Samantha has an even lower participation rate. She is the troublemaker so she runs around class, refuses to participate in some activities, distracts other kids, and interrupts the teacher when she sees something she can identify.

      I have personally attended the Heguru open house, and I have to admit, I was momentarily tempted to switch to that from Shichida! For me, one issue I have with Shichida is the quality control – every class is dependant on the quality of the teacher. Apparently, Heguru resolves this issue by regularly taping down their classes and sending them over to Japan for review (whether this is true or not I do not know).

      • Thank you! I found your post that meticulously describes the class structure in detail…Looks good to me and more age-appropriate than what Heguru does…

        Yes, Heguru did mention that the classes taught by first-time teachers(at heguru) would be video’d and sent to Japan…but I dont think it’s 100% true …

Leave a Reply

